Is Bread Usually Vegan?

Most bread is vegan, some bread is not. Homemade bread usually involves an egg, if the bread is yellowish, it might contain eggs. Store bought bread, especially bread that’s made in the bakery itself, is usually vegan.

Is Bread Usually Vegan?

French bread is also usually vegan. Normal white bread sometimes contains milk and butter (it did the way I used to make it anyway.) Whole wheat bread sometimes contains honey. Annoyingly, most commercial breads also contain high fructose corn syrup which you may or may not care about. Get into the habit of looking at the ingredients lists before buying. Don’t get anything that contains whey, eggs, milk, or honey (unless you’re a honey-eating vegan, of course). The fewer and simpler the ingredient list the better.

Watch out for mono-diglycerides

What are mono/diglycerides?

Monoglycerides and diglycerides are common food additives used to blend together certain ingredients, such as oil and water, which would not otherwise blend well. The commercial source may be either animal (cow- or hog-derived) or vegetable, and they may be synthetically made as well. They are often found in bakery products, beverages, ice cream,chewing gum, shortening, whipped toppings, margarine, and confections.

Watch out for Sodium stearoyl lactate

Sodium stearoyl lactate (and the similar calcium stearoyl lactate) is made by combining lactic acid and stearic acid, and then reacting the result with sodium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide to make the sodium or calcium salt. It is used as an emulsifier in processed foods. Stearoyl-2-lactylates are found in the majority of manufactured breads, buns, wraps and tortillas, and many similar bread-based products.

Lactic acid is used in a variety of food stuffs to act as an acidity regulator. Although it can be fermented from lactose (milk sugar), most commercially used lactic acid is derived from bacteria such as Bacillus acidilacti, Lactobacillus delbueckii or L. bulgaricuswhey to ferment carbohydrates from sources such as the cornstarch, potatoes or molasses. Thus, although it is commonly known as “milk acid”, products claiming to be vegan do sometimes feature lactic acid as an ingredient.

Stearic acid (IUPAC systematic name: octadecanoic acid) is one of the useful types of saturated fatty acids that comes from many animal and vegetable fats and oils.Stearic acid is prepared by treating animal fat with water at a high pressure and temperature, leading to the hydrolysis of triglycerides. It can also be obtained from the hydrogenation of some unsaturated vegetable oils.

Basic recipe: 

  • Flour
  • salt
  • yeast(w/turbinado sugar feeder)
  • mixture of soy milk & water & soy butter…. viola!

Give it some rise time and bake time: Vegan Bread!